Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives the Nobel Prize in Literature

Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives the Nobel Prize in Literature
Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives the Nobel Prize in Literature

The Royal Swedish Academy announced the award of the Nobel Prize in Literature for the year 2021 to the Tanzanian writer, Abdul Raziq Gornah, who is residing in Britain.

And the statement of the awarding committee stated that the award was granted to him, “for his deep-rooted and unprecedented depth of the effects of colonialism and the destinies of refugees in the Gulf between cultures and continents.”

The writer Abdel Razek Ghorna, born in Zanzibar in 1948, writes in English, and his most famous novel is “Paradise”, which he wrote in 1994, and was shortlisted for the Booker and Whitebread Prizes, “Abandonment” (2005) and “In Front of the Sea” (2001). .

Gurnah went to study in Britain in 1968, then worked as a lecturer between 1980-1982 at Bayero Kano University in Nigeria, then moved to the University of Kent, where he obtained his Ph.D. in 1982. He is now Professor and Head of Graduate Studies in the Department of English at the university. His main academic interest is post-colonial issues, and the discourse associated with colonialism, particularly in relation to Africa, the Caribbean and India.

His first three novels, Memory of Departure (1987), Pilgrimage Route (1988) and Dottie (1990), document the experience of immigrants in contemporary Britain from different perspectives. His fourth novel, Paradise (1994), is set in colonial East Africa during the First World War. As for the novel “Admiration of Silence” (1996), it tells the story of a young man who leaves Zanzibar and emigrates to Britain, where he marries and becomes a teacher.

read more

Abdul Razek Gurnah lives in Brighton, East Sussex, and in 2007 edited “The Cambridge Companion” by Salman Rushdie.

The prestigious award is worth 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.14 million). Between 1901 and 2021, the Nobel Committee awarded 113 prizes in the field of chemistry.

The Nobel Prize for Literature is the fourth prize awarded this week after the two scientists, Benjamin List of Germany and David MacMillan of Britain, won the Chemistry Prize, and Americans David Julius and Erdem Patbutian won the Medicine Prize for discovering receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch, and both a meteorologist and a scientist won the prize. Japanese climate, U.S. citizen Seokuro Manabe, climate modeler Klaus Haselmann and Italian physicist Giorgio Parisi with the Physics Prize.

The announcement of the Literature Prize will be followed in the coming days by the Nobel Prizes in Peace and Economics.

Source: Nobel Prize website + agencies

Follow RT on
For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV The deteriorating situation in Britain, amid the detection of a new mutant branching from the Delta, spreading in several countries
NEXT A third win in a row for Liverpool and Ajax… Real Madrid and Manchester City regain balance