Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives the Nobel Prize in Literature

Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives the Nobel Prize in Literature
Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives the Nobel Prize in Literature


Abdel Razek Gournah (illustration by: Niklas Elmehead)

Follow RT on

The Royal Swedish Academy announced the award of the Nobel Prize in Literature for the year 2021 to the Tanzanian writer, Abdul Raziq Gornah, who is residing in Britain.

And the statement of the awarding committee stated that the award was granted to him, “for his deep-rooted and unprecedented depth of the effects of colonialism and the destinies of refugees in the Gulf between cultures and continents.”

The writer Abdel Razek Ghorna, born in Zanzibar in 1948, writes in English, and his most famous novel is “Paradise”, which he wrote in 1994, and was shortlisted for the Booker and Whitebread Prizes, “Abandonment” (2005) and “In Front of the Sea” (2001). .

The prestigious award is worth 10 million Swedish kronor ($1.14 million). Between 1901 and 2021, the Nobel Committee awarded 113 prizes in the field of chemistry.

The Nobel Prize for Literature is the fourth prize awarded this week after the two scientists, Benjamin List of Germany and David MacMillan of Britain, won the Chemistry Prize, and Americans David Julius and Erdem Patbutian won the Medicine Prize for discovering receptors in the skin that sense temperature and touch, and both a meteorologist and a scientist won the prize. Japanese climate, U.S. citizen Seokuro Manabe, climate modeler Klaus Haselmann and Italian physicist Giorgio Parisi with the Physics Prize.

The announcement of the Literature Prize will be followed in the coming days by the Nobel Prizes in Peace and Economics.

Source: Nobel Prize website + agencies

Follow RT on


Abdul Razzaq Gurnah receives Nobel Prize Literature

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV The Lebanese towards “voluntary sterility”! – MTV Lebanon
NEXT A geology professor reveals the impact of the fumes of the La Palma volcano on Egypt: “