Flick excludes Hummels from the list of Germans

Flick excludes Hummels from the list of Germans
Flick excludes Hummels from the list of Germans

Germany coach Hansi Flick has left defender Mats Hummels out of the squad to face Romania and North Macedonia in the European qualifiers for the 2022 World Cup in Qatar.

The German team leads Group X, four points ahead of its closest competitors, and can decide its qualification for the finals by defeating Romania in Hamburg on the eighth of October, and then when it visits North Macedonia three days later.

Flick recalled again in his 23-man squad, veteran Thomas Muller, goalkeeper Marc-Andre ter Stegen and Matthias Ginter, and attributed the reason for the exclusion of Hummels to the need for the latter to rest due to knee problems.

“Everyone knows Mats’ potential when he is 100 percent ready,” Flick said.

Manchester City midfielder Ilkay Gundogan, Italian Atalanta defender Ruben Gossens and Dortmund defender Mahmoud Dahoud will also be absent from the final squad due to injury, while Jamala Musila and Florian Verts were also included in Flick’s squad.

After sweeping Armenia 6-0 and Iceland 4-0 in qualifying last month, Flick is looking forward to more convincing performances in the two matches awaited to secure the four-time world champion’s place in the finals.

And he added, “We have a difference of four points, we want to build on that and qualify as quickly as possible.”
Here is the lineup:

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona, ​​Spain), Bernd Leno (Arsenal, England).

Defenders: Thilo Kehrer (Paris Saint-Germain, France), Lucas Klostermann (Leipzig), David Raum (Hoffenheim), Antonio Rudiger (Chelsea, England), Nico Schlutterberk (Freiburg), Niklas Zule (Bayern Munich), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Mönchengladbach)

Midfield and Forwards: Joshua Kimmich, Leon Goretzka, Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Jonas Hoffmann, Florian Neuhaus (Borussia Monchengladbach), Florian Wirtz (Bayer Leverkusen), Serge Gnabry, Leroy Sane, Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich), Karim Ademi (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria). , Kai Havertz and Timo Werner (Chelsea, England), Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund).

Follow the sports statement on Google News

Pin Interest
Whats App

For Latest Updates Follow us on Google News

PREV SODIC signs a credit facility of 1.57 billion pounds with “Egypt” and “Arab African Bank”
NEXT Millions of “Android”, “Windows” and “iPhone” users may lose access to the Internet